Manufacture and importation of coin-like objects

Information basis

1. Introduction

1.1. Background

With the entry into force of the Federal Act of 22 December 1999 on Currency and Payment Instruments (CPIA; SR 941.10) on 1 May 2000, the authorisation requirement relating to the manufacture or importation of coin-like objects was lifted; an authorisation as provided for in Article 8 paragraph 1 of the Federal Act of 18 December 1970 on Coinage is no longer required. Accordingly, the (preliminary) examination is no longer carried out by the FFA, as was the case under the old law. The FFA is no longer responsible for this; nor is it responsible for the publication of corresponding fact sheets which set out the administrative practice. The fact sheet of 1 May 2000 and the later supplement of 15 November 2000 are subsequently no longer applicable.

Anyone who manufactures, imports, offers or circulates coin-like objects must take responsibility for ensuring that the applicable legal provisions are complied with. These include in particular Article 11 of the CPIA, Article 243 of the Criminal Code (SCC, SR 311.0), the Coat of Arms Protection Act (CAPA, SR 232.21) and the Precious Metals Control Act (PMCA, SR 941.31). The present information is based on the materials and corresponding literature indicated in the text or appendix.

1.2. Purpose of the information basis

This information basis contains only references to potentially applicable provisions (see section 2). The application of these and any other provisions of relevance to specific individual 2/5 cases is the sole responsibility of the parties concerned. The FFA does not make any assessments in this respect. The application of the above provisions and their interpretation is the responsibility of the competent prosecution authorities or courts. If there are any uncertainties regarding the application of the provisions mentioned, we recommend that you contact the competent authorities listed below (see sections 2.4 and 2.5) or experts or a law firm you trust.

2. Legal basis

2.1. Article 11 of the CPIA

According to Article 11 of the CPIA, anyone who issues or puts into circulation coins or banknotes denominated in Swiss francs, in contravention of the provisions contained in Article 99 of the Federal Constitution and the CPIA, shall be liable to a custodial sentence or a monetary penalty. This provision guarantees the protection under criminal law of the monopoly on issuing coins and banknotes denominated in Swiss francs. At the centre of this protection is the concept of the Swiss franc as the country's unit of currency. Coin-like objects with a face value in Swiss francs which could be misused as means of payment are therefore no longer permissible under the monopoly protection (BBl 1999 7258 7281).

Based on the decision of the Federal Supreme Court 6S.472/2005 (in german) of 13 March 2006 (in particular E. 3.4), and contrary to what is stated in the dispatch on the CPIA (BBl 1999 7258 7281), it is in particular decisive whether the coin-like objects bear a face value in Swiss francs and/or whether there is a risk of confusion or misuse (see point 2.3). If this is the case, this fact may affect the currency sovereignty of the Confederation; Article 11 of the CPIA is applicable according to the Federal Supreme Court. If, on the other hand, the coin-like items do not bear a face value in Swiss francs or if there is no danger of confusion or misuse, the coinage monopoly of the Confederation is not infringed. According to the Federal Supreme Court, Article 11 of the CPIA is not applicable in such cases.

2.2. Article 243 of the SCC

According to Article 243 of the SCC, a custodial sentence of up to three years or a fine may be imposed in particular on anyone who, without the intention of forgery, produces objects which in their appearance, weight and size are similar to coins in circulation, or which show the nominal value or other characteristics of coins in circulation, and thus create the risk that persons or machines will confuse such coins with coins which are in circulation. Any person who imports, offers or puts into circulation such objects will also be subject to the same punishment. If the offender acts negligently, he will be liable to a fine.

Also in the context of Article 243 of the SCC, the creation of a risk of confusion or a possibility of abuse is decisive (see section Fehler! Verweisquelle konnte nicht gefunden werden.). There must actually be a (specific) danger of confusion, but actual confusion is not required.

2.3. Risk of confusion according to Article 11 of the CPIA and Article 243 of the SCC

As with ensuring compliance with all legal provisions, the assessment of the likelihood of confusion is the sole responsibility of the person or persons manufacturing, importing, offering or circulating coin-like objects. The following information serves as a guide, but a judgement in individual cases is always decisive.

3/5 In the case of coin-like objects, there may be a risk of confusion in particular if they bear similarities to genuine coins in appearance, weight or size. A likelihood of confusion may also exist if the coin-like objects bear a nominal value (currency unit combined with an indication of quantity) or other characteristics of an official minting, e.g. a coat of arms or a reference to a minting site (dispatch of 26 May 1999 on a Federal Act on Currency and Payment Instruments (CPIA); BBl 1999 7258, 7283 (in German)).

The following information, among other sources, may be used to assess the risk of confusion: 

2.4. Coat of Arms Protection Act

The Coat of Arms Protection Act (CAPA) regulates, among other things, the use of

  • Coats of arms (Swiss coat of arms, the coats of arms of the cantons, districts and communes; Art. 5 and 8 of the CAPA);
  • Official designations (e.g. "Confederation", "Swiss Confederation", "federal", "canton", "cantonal", "commune", "communal", "www.admin.ch", "Confoederatio Helvetica", known abbreviations of authorities (FDJP, DDPS, ETH etc.), "police"; Art. 6 and 9 of the CAPA);
  • Flags and other national emblems (in particular the Swiss flag, official hallmarks, seals, stamps; Art. 10 of the CAPA and Art. 4 of the Coat of Arms Protection Ordinance, CAPO, SR 232.211);
  • National figurative and word signs (signs that refer to national symbols such as landmarks, heroic figures, sites, myths or monuments of Switzerland, e.g. Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen, Tre Castelli in Bellionzona, Matterhorn, William Tell, Winkelried, Helvetia, Rütlischwur etc., Art. 7 and 11 of the CAPA); and
  • Public Swiss signs and public foreign signs (Art. 12 of the CAPA).

The use of coats of arms or other public signs is subject to various conditions (see Art. 8 to 12 of the CAPA). Flags and other national emblems as well as national figurative and word signs may be used, unless their use is misleading or contrary to public order, morality or applicable law; on this matter see BBl 2009 8533, 8632 et seq.

According to Article 28 of the CAPA, anyone who wilfully and unlawfully uses public signs is liable to a custodial sentence not exceeding one year or a monetary penalty. If the offender acts for commercial or financial gain, the penalty will be a custodial sentence not exceeding five years or a monetary penalty.

Information in connection with the protection of coats of arms and indications of origin can be obtained from the Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property
Stauffacherstrasse 65/59g,
3003 Bern
telephone: +41 31 377 77 77
email: info@ipi.ch.

2.5. Precious Metals Control Act

According to Article 44 of the PMCA, anyone who submits articles for hallmarking or, for the purpose of sale, makes, commissions or imports, supplies or offers to supply articles (also coin-like objects such as medals) under a mark that is liable to be misleading or that is prohibited under the PMCA, being articles that do not meet the prescribed standard of fineness 4/5 as precious metal articles or articles not meeting the provisions of the Act, or any person who stamps on precious metal articles or multi-metal articles a mark purporting to represent a higher fineness than actually exists, among other things, will be liable to punishment. Anyone acting with intent will be liable to a term of imprisonment or to a fine not exceeding CHF 100,000. If the offender acts professionally, the term of imprisonment will be no less than one month (see however Art. 333 para. 2 lit. c of the SCC).

Information on Swiss precious metal legislation can be obtained from the Central Office for Precious Metal Control, Federal Customs Administration, Industriestrasse 37, 2555 Brügg, Tel. +41 (0)58 462 66 22, email: sekretariate.ozd-emk@ezv.admin.ch

Last modification 22.07.2021

Top of page

https://www.swissmint.ch/content/swissmint/en/home/swissmint/recht/muenzaehnliche-gegenstaende.html

Herstellung und Einfuhr münzähnlicher Gegenstände

Informationsgrundlage

1. Einleitung

1.1. Ausgangslage

Per 1. Mai 2000 wurde mit dem Inkrafttreten des Bundesgesetzes vom 22. Dezember 1999 über die Währung und die Zahlungsmittel (WZG; SR 941.10) die Bewilligungspflicht betref-fend die Herstellung oder Einfuhr münzähnlicher Gegenstände aufgehoben; eine Bewilli-gung, wie sie noch in Artikel 8 Absatz 1 des Bundesgesetzes vom 18. Dezember 1970 über das Münzwesen (MünzG) vorgesehen war, ist nicht (mehr) notwendig. Entsprechend erfolgt auch keine (Vor-) Prüfung mehr durch die EFV, wie dies unter dem alten Recht der Fall war. Die EFV ist hierfür nicht mehr zuständig; auch nicht für die Herausgabe von entsprechenden Merkblättern, welche die Verwaltungspraxis festhalten. Das Merkblatt vom 1. Mai 2000 sowie die spätere Ergänzung vom 15. November 2000 ist in der Folge nicht mehr anwendbar.

Wer münzähnliche Gegenstände herstellt, einführt, anbietet oder in Umlauf setzt, muss in eigener Verantwortung sicherstellen, dass die geltenden rechtlichen Grundlagen eingehalten werden. Dazu gehören insbesondere Artikel 11 WZG, Artikel 243 Strafgesetzbuch (StGB, SR 311.0), das Wappenschutzgesetzt (WSchG, SR 232.21) sowie des Edelmetallkontrollgesetz (EMKG, SR 941.31).

Die vorliegenden Hinweise stützen sich auf die im Text oder im Anhang angegebenen Mate-rialien und die entsprechende Literatur.

1.2. Zweck der Informationsgrundlage

Die Informationsgrundlage enthält nur Hinweise auf mögliche anwendbare Bestimmungen (vgl. Ziff. 2). Die Anwendung derselben und allenfalls weiterer relevanter Bestimmungen auf konkrete Einzelfälle erfolgt durch die Betroffenen eigenverantwortlich. Die EFV gibt diesbe-züglich keine Beurteilungen ab. Die Anwendung der oben aufgeführten Bestimmungen und deren Auslegung ist Sache der zuständigen Strafverfolgungsbehörden bzw. Gerichte.
Bestehen Unklarheiten bezüglich der Anwendung der genannten Vorschriften, empfehlen wir Ihnen, sich an die nachgenannten, zuständigen Stellen (vgl. Ziff. 2.4 u. 2.5) bzw. an Experten oder eine Anwaltskanzlei Ihres Vertrauens zu wenden.

2. Rechtliche Grundlagen

2.1. Artikel 11 WZG

Nach Artikel 11 WZG wird mit Gefängnis oder Busse bestraft, wer entgegen den Vorschriften von Artikel 99 der Bundesverfassung und des Gesetzes auf Schweizerfranken lautende Münzen oder Banknoten ausgibt oder in Umlauf setzt. Diese Bestimmung gewährleistet den strafrechtlichen Schutz der Ausgabenmonopole für auf Schweizerfranken lautende Münzen und Banknoten. Im Zentrum dieses Schutzes steht der Begriff des Schweizerfrankens als Währungseinheit des Landes. Münzähnliche Gegenstände mit Nennwert auf Schweizerfranken, die als Zahlungsmittel missbraucht werden könnten, sind daher unter dem Gesichts-punkt des Monopolschutzes nicht mehr zulässig (BBl 1999 7258 7281).

Gestützt auf den Entscheid des Bundesgerichts 6S.472/2005 vom 13. März 2006 (insb. E. 3.4) – und entgegen den Ausführungen in der Botschaft zum WZG (BBl 1999 7258 7281) – ist insbesondere massgebend, ob die münzähnlichen Gegenstände einen Nennwert in Schweizer Franken aufweisen und/oder eine Verwechslungs- oder Missbrauchsgefahr be-steht (vgl. Ziff. 2.3). Ist dies der Fall, so kann sich dieser Umstand auf die Währungssouveränität des Bundes auswirken; Artikel 11 WZG ist gemäss Bundesgericht anwendbar. Wenn die münzähnlichen Gegenstände hingegen keinen Nennwert in Schweizerfranken aufweisen oder keine Verwechslungs- oder Missbrauchsgefahr besteht, wird das Münzmonopol des Bundes nicht verletzt. Artikel 11 WZG ist in diesen Fällen gemäss Bundesgericht nicht anwendbar.

2.2. Artikel 243 StGB

Nach Artikel 243 StGB kann mit Freiheitsstrafe bis zu drei Jahren oder Geldstrafe insbesondere bestraft werden, wer ohne Fälschungsabsicht Gegenstände herstellt, die den in Kurs stehenden Münzen in Gepräge, Gewicht oder Grösse ähnlich sind oder die Nennwerte oder andere Merkmale einer amtlichen Prägung aufweisen, so dass die Gefahr einer Verwechslung mit in Kurs stehenden Münzen durch Personen oder Geräten geschaffen wird. Gleichermassen bestraft wird, wer solche Gegenstände einführt, anbietet oder in Umlauf setzt. Handelt der Täter fahrlässig, wird er mit Busse bestraft.

Auch im Rahmen von Artikel 243 StGB ist die Schaffung einer Gefahr der Verwechslung bzw. eine Missbrauchsmöglichkeit entscheidend (vgl. Ziff. 2.3). Es muss tatsächlich eine (konkrete) Verwechslungsgefahr bestehen, nicht vorausgesetzt ist hingegen eine tatsächliche Verwechslung.

2.3. Verwechslungsgefahr gemäss Artikel 11 WZG und Artikel 243 StGB

Wie die Sicherstellung der Einhaltung aller rechtlichen Grundlagen liegt auch die Beurteilung der Verwechslungsgefahr in der Eigenverantwortung der Person oder den Personen, die münzähnliche Gegenstände herstellen, einführen, anbieten oder in Umlauf bringen. Die nachfolgenden Ausführungen dienen als Hinweise, massgebend ist jedoch immer eine Beurteilung im Einzelfall.

Bei münzähnlichen Gegenständen kann eine Verwechslungsgefahr insbesondere bestehen, wenn sie in Gepräge, Gewicht oder Grösse Ähnlichkeiten mit echten Münzen aufweisen. Eine Verwechslungsgefahr kann auch vorliegen, wenn die münzähnlichen Gegenstände einen Nennwert (Währungseinheit verbunden mit einer Mengenangabe) aufweisen, oder an-dere Merkmale einer amtlichen Prägung, z.B. ein Wappen oder ein Hinweis auf eine Prägestelle, tragen (Botschaft vom 26. Mai 1999 zu einem Bundesgesetz über die Währung und die Zahlungsmittel (WZG); BBl 1999 7258, 7283).

Zur Beurteilung der Verwechslungsgefahr können u.a. die folgenden Informationen beigezogen werden:

2.4. Wappenschutzgesetz

Das Wappenschutzgesetz (WSchG) regelt u.a. den Gebrauch von

  • Wappen (Schweizerwappen, die Wappen der Kantone, Bezirke, Kreise und Gemein-den; Art. 5 und 8 WSchG);
  • Amtliche Bezeichnungen (z.B. Eidgenossenschaft», «Bund», «eidgenössisch», «Kanton», «kantonal», «Gemeinde», «kommunal», «www.admin.ch», «Confoederatio Helvetica», bekannte Abkürzungen von Behörden (EJPD, VBS, ETH etc.), «Polizei»; Art. 6 und 9 WSchG);
  • Fahnen und andere Hoheitszeichen (insb. Schweizerfahne, amtliche Stempel, Siegel, Wertzeichen,; Art. 10 WSchG und Art. 4 Wappenschutzverordnung, WSchV, SR 232.211);
  • Nationale Bild- und Wortzeichen (Zeichen, die sich auf nationale Symbole wie Wahrzei-chen, Heldengestalten, Stätten, Mythen oder Denkmäler der Schweiz beziehen., z.B. Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen, Tre Castelli in Bellionzonea, Matterhorn, Wilhelm Tell, Winkelried, Helvetia, Rütlischwur usw. Art. 7 und 11 WSchG); sowie
  • öffentliche Zeichen der Schweiz und des Auslandes (Art. 12 WSchG).

Der Gebrauch der Wappen bzw. der anderen öffentlichen Zeichen ist an verschiedene Voraussetzungen geknüpft (vgl. Art. 8–12 WSchG). Fahnen und andere Hoheitszeichen sowie Nationale Bild- und Wortzeichen dürfen beispielsweise gebraucht werden, es sei denn der Gebrauch ist irreführend oder verstösst gegen die öffentliche Ordnung, die guten Sitten oder geltendes Recht; vgl. zum Ganzen BBl 2009 8533, 8632 ff.

Gemäss Artikel 28 WSchG wird mit Freiheitsstrafe bis zu einem Jahr oder mit Geldstrafe be-straft, wer vorsätzlich und unrechtmässig öffentliche Zeichen gebraucht. Handelt die Täterin oder der Täter gewerbsmässig, so ist die Strafe Freiheitsstrafe bis zu fünf Jahren oder Geldstrafe.

Auskünfte im Zusammenhang mit dem Wappenschutz und Herkunftsangaben erteilt das

Eidgenössische Institut für Geistiges Eigentum
Stauffacherstrasse 65/59g
3003 Bern

Telefon: +41 31 377 77 77
E-Mail: info@ipi.ch.

2.5. Edelmetallkontrollgesetz

Nach Artikel 44 des EMKG wird u.a. bestraft, wer unter einer zur Täuschung geeigneten oder durch das EMKG verbotenen Bezeichnung Waren (auch münzähnliche Gegenstände, wie Medaillen), die den vorgeschriebenen Feingehalt nicht besitzen, als Edelmetallwaren oder Waren, die den Vorschriften dieses Gesetzes nicht entsprechen, anfertigt, anfertigen lässt oder einführt, feilbietet oder verkauft, oder wer Edelmetallwaren oder Mehrmetallwaren mit einer Stempelung versieht, die auf einen höheren Feingehalt als den wirklich vorhandenen schliessen lässt. Wer vorsätzlich handelt, wird mit Gefängnis oder mit Busse bis zu 100 000 Franken bestraft. Handelt der Täter gewerbsmässig, so ist die Strafe Gefängnis nicht unter einem Monat (vgl. jedoch Art. 333 Abs. 2 Bst. c StGB).

Auskünfte über die schweizerische Edelmetallgesetzgebung erteilt das

Zentralamt für Edelmetallkontrolle
Eidgenössische Zollverwaltung
Industriestrasse 37
2555 Brügg

Telefon: +41 (0)58 462 66 22
E-Mail: sekretariate.ozd-emk@ezv.admin.ch

Letzte Änderung 22.07.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.swissmint.ch/content/swissmint/de/home/swissmint/recht/muenzaehnliche-gegenstaende.html